Fudge Filled Moon Cake

I got hold of a proper moon cake mould this weekend & I was desperate to try it out. I hadn’t presoaked any red beans & I didn’t have the energy to do all that mashing anyway…I started to think creatively about alternative fillings and decided on using fudge. I wasn’t too sure how the baking would affect it, I envisaged that it would turn into a molten mess, but I was willing to give it a go. I haven’t made fudge in years and decided to adapt a recipe I found on the Waitrose website. I halved the recipe and used about 50g (¼ cup) of the finished fudge as moon cake filling. I poured the rest of the fudge into some cupcake cases.

To give added substance I added desiccated coconut, a few chopped pistachios & crystallized ginger. It was really satisfying making these cakes, especially when they plop out the mould with pretty indentations. They smelt amazing baking away, I couldn’t wait to eat them, but I had to wait – I didn’t want to burn my mouth on hot fudge. I ate mine still warm & slightly soft, they were absolutely delicious! The day after they became harder & chewier, more like a toffee filled cookie, yum!

Vanilla Fudge Dessert

250g sugar (I reduced the sugar to 180g to make softer fudge)

170g evaporated milk

2 tbsp milk

pinch of salt

50g butter

½ tsp vanilla extract

Chopped nuts, crystalized ginger, dried fruit etc.

  1. Place 6-8 silicon cupcake cases into a muffin pan.
  2. Put the sugar, milk, evaporated milk in a large pan. Heat until the sugar has dissolved then increase to medium & bring to the boil (without stirring). Once boiling, lower the heat and simmer for 30minutes, stirring to prevent sticking.
  3. Remove from heat, add the butter and vanilla but do not stir. Leave to cool for 15 minutes
  4. Beat vigorously with a wooden spoon for 10minutes
  5. Spoon a tablespoon of fudge into the cupcake cases & leave to cool for 30mins, before transferring to the fridge. Sprinke over chopped pistachio nuts & crystalized ginger, or whatever you feel like.

Fudge filled mini moon cakes

Makes 8

Filling

50g soft vanilla fudge

50g desiccated coconut

1 generous tbsp crystallized ginger, finely chopped

1 generous tbsp pistachio nuts, finely chopped

Pastry

100g plain flour

½ tsp baking soda

60g golden syrup

25g vegetable oil

½ tsp water

  1. First, make the pastry. Place the syrup, vegetable oil & water in a microwaveable bowl. Heat gently & mix thoroughly.
  2. In a mixing bowl, sift the flour with the baking soda. Make a well in the flour and add the liquid. Combine to form dough. Leave to rest for 40minutes.
  3. To make the filling, combine all the ingredients together & mix well.
  4. Preheat the oven 350F/180C/gas mark 4
  5. Divide the dough evenly into 8 balls. Flatten & place a teaspoon of the filling in the center. Pinch to close & press gently into a moon cake mould. Tap the sides of the mould to remove the moon cake. Place moon cakes on a lined baking sheet.
  6. Bake for 20 minutes & allow to cool for 10 mins before eating.

3 responses to “Fudge Filled Moon Cake

  1. Pingback: Tiny Talk » Blog Archive » Celebrate the Mid-Autumn Moon Festival! | Tiny Prints Blog: Birth Announcements, Invitations & Stationery·

Leave a Reply

