Red velvet cake (Daring Cooks challenge October 2013)

paper anniversary cake

In a “celebration” of past Daring Cooks and Daring Bakers challenges, Lisa challenged all of us to search through the Daring Kitchen archives and pick any one we’d like! The REAL challenge was picking which delicious recipe(s) to try!

I was overwhelmed by choice for this months challenge, there were dozens of recipes that I would have loved to bake again. However, as a new mum, I didn’t want to challenge myself tooo much this month so went for a cake that I’ve made before but have yet to master. Red velvet cake was set in March 2007, before I became a Daring Baker.

paper anniversary card

I made this cake to celebrate my 1st wedding anniversary on the 6th October this year. I used a heart shaped pan (a wedding gift) as a red heart cake would look quite cute.

red velvet cake

I made a brown velvet, not read, as I was equipped with natural red food colouring which wasn’t enough to mask the browness of the cocoa. In a panic, I threw in half a bottle of purple yam essence – one drop normally is enough to give a nice violet tint, but didn’t have any effect on this cake. In my mind, this cake tasted red, despite it’s brown appearance.

ube

 

red velvet cake uniced

I was foolish enough to ice this cake with Rachel Allen’s ‘American frosting’, equipped without an electric whisk this was a work-out for my husband who spent a good 30mins beating the egg white/golden syrup/sugar until it formed the consistency of marshmallow (it was impossible to get this any stiffer!) Worried that the icing would disappear into the cake, I decided to bake the iced cake it in the oven for 5mins to harden. It kind of worked for one day, then reverted back to sticky gloop. I topped the cake off with a sprinkling of fresh & dried raspberries.

06_10_2013 062

The end result was indeed a cake with texture of velvet – pillowy soft crumb that melts in your mouth. A real winner, and now that I’ve mastered it, I will definitely be making more velvet cakes of all different shapes & colours.

The recipe chosen is from More From Magnolia: Recipes from the World Famous Bakery and Allysa Torey’s Home Kitchen. Click here for the pdf of the recipe,

 

3 responses to “Red velvet cake (Daring Cooks challenge October 2013)

Leave a Reply

