Rhubarb & Ginger Trifle

Rhubarb & ginger Trifle

My mum’s got monster amounts of rhubarb growing in her garden and gave me a cutting a while back. It took a while to cultivate as it was an on-going battle with the slugs. I was excited to find a few chop-stick sized shoots that emerged the other day, so we immediately harvested them.

This was a really simple recipe that utilised the carton of juice in the fridge. I went out to buy the trifle sponges but I think it would work equally well with any type of sponge cake that you might have available.

1 cup rhubarb, washed & chopped

400ml red grape juice

100ml water

2 tbsp finely chopped stem ginger

2 tbsp finely chopped crystallized ginger

1 sachet gelatine (or vegetarian gelatine)

4 trifle sponges

250ml custard – instant or fresh

1. Place the red grape juice, water, rhubarb, stem & crystallized ginger in a pan & bring to the boil. Simmer until the rhubarb is soft, approximately 3mins.

2. Take off the heat & sprinkle over the gelatine. Whisk well until dissolved.

3. In the bottom of a large bowl, place the trifle sponges. Pour jelly mixture over this and leave to cool. Transfer into the fridge once it’s reached room temperature.

4. If using instant custard, make up following the instructions on the packet. Allow to cool before pouring over the jelly.

5. Chill in the fridge for at least 4 hours.

A word of warning, for those who are not familiar with rhubarb, the leaves are poisonous eaten & give off toxic fumes when boiled. I made myself ill once when I was experimenting with my fabric dying using vegetables as rhubarb leaves produce a bright yellow. I had a huge bagful of leaves simmering away in my kitchen for an hour. The fumes are subtle but they made me feel very nauseous and dizzy, took me a couple of days to recover!

One response to “Rhubarb & Ginger Trifle

Leave a Reply

