Lemon Brandy Snaps with Banana Cream & Chocolate Truffle (Gluten Free)

This is a zesty take on Antoinette Savill’s Brandy snap recipe. I’ve always been fascinated by these clever things so had a go at making them myself.

¼ cup sugar

¼ cup butter

2 tbsp golden syrup

½ cup rice flour

1 tsp ground ginger

½ tsp cinnamon

zest of 1 lemon

1 tsp lemon juice

Oil 6 upturned ramekins

  1. Preheat the oven gas mark 4
  2. Melt the margarine, sugar & syrup in a bowl in the microwave. Add the remaining ingredients & mix well
  3. Drop a tablespoon of the batter onto a baking sheet & bake until golden, about 10mins
  4. Let the snaps cool for a minute before handling. Carefully drape over a ramekin & allow to cool. I found this tricky as my snaps kept falling apart, so I ended up moulding them inside the ramekins.

This desert was a joint effort – my sister’s boyfriend (also my baking rival) whizzed up a couple of bananas with 100ml cream, and a spoonful of home-made cinnamon truffle, topped off with a strand of saffron. This dessert was absolutely delicious but now my stomach hurts from eating too much dairy…

Leave a Reply

