Date & Walnut & Banana cake (Gluten Free)

As a break from monotonous label sewing (I really could do with an intern right now), I needed something to stop myself from going slightly mad.

I have an abundant supply of mini bananas that desperately need eating so I decided to incorporate them into a date & walnut cake. I absolutely adore dates & bananas, especially cooked in porridge when they turn sweet & fudgey…

I ended up amalgamating a couple of recipes together & was undecided if I should follow instructions for banana cake or date & walnut cake. I decided on adapting the later, reducing the sugar & fat content. This cake uses the natural sweetness from the fresh & dried fruit so doesn’t need a lot of refined sugar. I used a teaspoon of molasses & golden syrup to help bind the batter & it also added slight treacle richness to the loaf.

I just so happened to have some oolong tea left in the teapot so I decided to soak my dates & dried barberries in this. I used a high-grade tea with a slight banana aroma to it so I thought it quite fitting. I think earl grey would work well too.

After changing the recipe to this extreme I was anxious to how it would turn out. The batter was far wetter than originally stated so I baked it for a further 30mins. I had the will power to leave this cake untouched to mature overnight, although I have to admit I enjoyed a slice for breakfast.

mini bananas

Date, walnut & banana cake (gluten free)

½ cup chopped dates

3 tbsp dried barberries or dried cranberries

¾ cup hot tea (or hot water)

½ cup rice flour

½ cup maize meal

¼ cup cornmeal

1 tsp baking powder

½ tsp bicarbonate of soda

1 tsp mixed spice

½ cup chopped walnuts

1 apple, peeled & grated

1 cup banana, mashed

1 egg

3 tbsp melted margarine or oil

1 tsp molasses

1 tsp golden syrup

1 large banana (or 3 mini bananas) thinly sliced

Golden syrup

  1. Place the dates & dried barberries (or cranberries) in a bowl & pour over the hot tea. Leave to soak for about an hour.
  2. Preheat the oven 200C/400F/Gas mark 6
  3. In a large bowl, combine together the flours, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda & mixed spices. In a separate bowl, combine the grated apple, mashed banana, egg, melted margarine, molasses & golden syrup. Add in the dry ingredients & stir until well combined. Mix in the nuts.
  4. Pour the batter into a greased loaf tin & bake for 40mins. Take out the oven & scatter over the chopped bananas. Bake for a further 30mins.
  5. Remove from the oven & using a chopstick or skewer, poke 10-15 holes into the loaf. Drizzle a couple of teaspoons of golden syrup into the holes. Return to the oven for an additional 10mins at gas mark 4.
  6. Allow to cool before removing from the tin. Cool completely before serving.

2 responses to “Date & Walnut & Banana cake (Gluten Free)

  1. The cake looks wickedly delicious! Will definately try your recipe. Thanks a stack. I can’t have corn and maize flour, so I’ll use the gluten free flour mix and hope it works!

Leave a Reply

