Homage to Mr Hopper, The Dissapearing Muffin Man (Gluten Free Pumpkin Muffins)

Things are going a bit strange in my kitchen. Firstly my pitta breads decided to grow legs and run away, then my black sesame paste that I was SO looking forwards to eating mysteriously disappeared…I think Mr Hopper’s up to his old tricks again. He sadly past away 3 months after my brother bought his house, and I believe that Mr Hopper comes back to visit now and then.

As it is Halloween, I decided to make some pumpkin muffins. I didn’t make enough pumpkin puree so decided to add some grated carrot to make up the difference. I spent a while searching for my baking soda as it inexplicably decided to hide itself. Whilst the muffins were in the oven, I decided to read some of the Vampire Thriller movie script that I’d been sent, the director wants to get me on board for the costumes…20mins later I checked on my muffins & the batter had crept over the sides like molten lava. (Time to invest in a proper muffin pan I think.)

Once cooled I decided to top them off with saffron cream cheese icing & a few dried barberries. These are probably my best gluten-free muffins I’ve baked so far – the texture is convincingly moist & spongy. I’ve left one out for Mr Hopper, I’m sure it’ll be gone by the morning.

This recipe was inspired by ‘Homemade Muffins’ by Carol Tennant

Gluten Free Pumpkin Muffins

For the filling:

75g quark or cream cheese

2 tbsp sugar

2 tbsp maple syrup

Blend all these ingredients together until smooth.

For the muffin batter:

100g cornmeal

100g tapioca flour

50g glutinous rice flour

50g maize flour

2 tsp baking powder

½ tsp bicarbonate of soda

1 tsp ground cinnamon

½ tsp nutmeg

½ tsp salt

50g pumpkin seeds

30g crystallized ginger, finely sliced (optional)

50g sugar

2 eggs, lightly beaten

200g pumpkin puree, fresh or canned (or 275g pumpkin puree if omitting the carrot)

75g grated carrot

2 tbsp maple syrup

175ml soya milk

50ml vegetable oil

  1. Preheat the oven to 400F/200C/Gas mark 6. line a 12 cup muffin pan with cases
  2. For the muffin batter, mix all the dry ingredients together in a bowl. Stir in the pumpkin seeds & crystallized ginger. In another bowl, mix the eggs, pumpkin, carrot, milk, oil & maple syrup.
  3. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients all at once and mix briefly until just combined. Fold in the filling mixture until the batter is just swirled through.
  4. Spoon the batter into the prepared pan and sprinkle with sugar. Bake until risen and golden, 20-25 minutes. Cool in the pan for 10minutes, and then turn out onto a wire rack.

Leave a Reply

