Warming up on Cold Autumn Nights

Caramelised Onion Plait with Pumpkin Soup and Irish Barm Brack

onion-plait1

Caramalised Onion Plait

I dread the end of autumn for its rapidly increasingly cold & dark short days, and the fact that my bedroom is like a fridge. Going to bed is an ordeal as I have started to wrap up in thick felted wool; hat & toe socks and a hot water bottle…The warmest room in the house is my kitchen which gets nice and toasty, especially when I’m baking. If only we didn’t have a mouse problem I would definitely put my mattress into the kitchen.

One thing that I do like about cold weather is the desire to eat hearty, comforting & warming food (and also to wear my thick winter coat and furry boots…). This is my version of the Waitrose recipe for Caramalised Onion & Thyme Plait. It was great dunked into thick & spicy pumpkin soup.

onion-plait2

pumpkin-soup

Creamy Pumpkin & Sweetcorn Soup with Chilie

My boyfriend came round for dinner & amazed me with his gigantic Barm Brack! A traditional Irish Halloween/Bonfire night treat, it was delicious toasted & spread with butter. He had soaked the raisins in Lapsang tea which gave a lovely smoky flavour to compliment the earthy spices of nutmeg & cinnamon. After a couple of glasses of wine, I was warm enough to go without my hat & socks, and had the added bonus of a human hot water bottle to cuddle.

davids-brack2

A very big Barm Brack

davids-brack1

Nice and Toasty

One response to “Warming up on Cold Autumn Nights

  1. I had to laugh at this post. Very cute. I’m glad my brack turned out well. The pumpkin&sweetcorn soup was delicious.

Leave a Reply

