Low-Fat Carrot Cake

carrot-cake

This is my last normal cake that I’ll bake for some time as I started my anti-Candida diet today – no yeast and sugar for the next few weeks. I’ve also decided to be stricter on the wheat-free aspect of my diet as I’ve been experiencing excruciating stomach pains & bloating from hell. I’ve had one too many yeast infections this year & feel like my body could do with a rest. My decision to cut out all sugar came a week ago, so I’ve had time to finish off my fruit (I NEVER throw away good food and hate to see food go to waste. I don’t understand people who throw away half eaten dinners…)

I baked this carrot cake over the weekend at my boyfriends place, so only normal flour to hand unfortunately. I’ve been slowly weaning myself off the sweet stuff, so I decided to reduce the sugar & sultanas from this adaptation of Delia Smith’s recipe. I also opted out of the frosting and served this cake with a dollop of yoghurt instead. As this cake is subtly sweet, I was content after eating one slice.

The full recipe can be found here

Low-Fat Carrot Cake (Serves 6)

45g dark brown sugar

1 egg

60ml sunflower oil

100g self-raising flour (or gluten-free flour blend)

1 tsp baking powder

½ tsp ground cinnamon

½ tsp ground nutmeg

½ tsp freshly grated steam ginger

Grated zest of 1 orange

150g carrots, peeled & grated (I used more carrots for a moister cake)

30g sultanas

  1. Preheat the oven to 325F/170C/gas mark 3.
  2. Whisk together the egg, oil & sugar
  3. In another bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, spices. Stir in the egg mix.
  4. Fold in the orange zest, grated ginger, carrots & sultanas.
  5. Pour into a prepared tin & bake for 30-35 mins or until an inserted skewer comes out clean.

carrot-cake1

3 responses to “Low-Fat Carrot Cake

Leave a Reply

