Sweet Potato Pancakes (Gluten Free)

sweet-potato-pancakes

I am happy & proud that I’ve managed a whole week on my Anti-Candida diet! This weekend my Boyfriend came down to visit me; I was worried that my diet would make it a miserable affair. I was really grumpy to begin with, it was impossible to enjoy the things that we often take for granted; no cakes to accompany my cup of tea, no longer able to eat at my favorite restaurants, and the shocking realization that vodka is really expensive (I’m a beer & wine drinker).  What’s a yeast/wheat/lactose/sugar free girl to do…I had to break a few of the rules. I ate my salad ‘not knowing’ that there might be vinegar in the dressing, and allowed myself a (large) mouthful of an apple flapjack.

Feeling guilty about dragging my BF into my restricted diet, I made sweet potato pancakes for brunch today. These do not have any added sugar & are satisfyingly delicious. They are also really light & airy, and taste great with sweet or savory toppings. I ate mine with low fat natural yoghurt and made an exception for a few strawberries. My Honey-Monster spread layers of chocolate spread, peanut butter & jam over his, I managed not to give into temptation. Phew…what hard work! I’m looking forwards to reintroducing fruit back into my diet next week, I can’t wait!

Sweet Potato Pancakes (Gluten Free)

Makes about 12

3/4 cup (about 170g) sweet potato, cooked & mashed

¼ cup rice flour

¼ cup sorghum flour (or any other gluten-free flour that you might have)

¼ cup tapioca flour

1 tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

½ tsp nutmeg

1 egg

¾ cup soy milk

2 tbsp dairy-free margarine, melted (vegetable oil can also be used)

  1. In a bowl, sift all the dry ingredients together.
  2. In separate bowl, mix together the sweet potato, eggs, milk & melted butter. Add this to the dry ingredients & combine well.
  3. Preheat a frying pan, drop spoonfuls of the batter and cook for a couple of minutes on each side

sweet-potato-pancakes-final

4 responses to “Sweet Potato Pancakes (Gluten Free)

  1. Pingback: So my 4 week anti-candida diet finally came to an end! :oD « creative recipes for wandering minds·

  2. These are really good. I cooked them at a lower temperature for a long time to try to get them to dry out (made them thin as well), but they are still wet inside. Is that what you discovered?

  3. Yum! I added ground clove, ginger, and cinnamon. Also, a little yogurt and molasses (which wouldn’t be good for an anti-candida recipe, but made a delicious gluten-free recipe). Thanks!

    Haley

Leave a Reply

