Courgette Muffin Disaster!

cougette-muffin2

Being a curious cook, I was intrigued by the idea of courgette muffins. This vegetable is one of my favorites and is extremely versatile. However, this was one baking experiment that went horribly wrong…I attempted a gluten & sugar-free version of Courgette Muffins with Honey, Cinnamon and Ginger recipe by Abel & Cole  but decided to substitute the honey for strawberry juice. I baked them for 50mins instead of the recommended 18mins; they came out with a texture like wet clay & looking rather grey.

These muffins must be one of the strangest things I’ve baked; they’re neither sweet nor savory. Not wanting to throw them away, I sliced them up & dry fried them to reduce the moisture. I spread home made pistachio, brazil nut & flax butter between the layers and drizzled tahini over the top. The nuts added a missing dimension to these muffins and made them more palatable. Next time I will try to stick closer to the recipe…

courgette-muffin1

The offending item

3 responses to “Courgette Muffin Disaster!

  1. Hi Feng!
    Thanks so much for including me in your blogroll (I’m honored to be in such esteemed company) 🙂

    I love your creativity with recipes–it must be a function of your creativity as a designer. Your clothes, by the way, are GORGEOUS (I took a peek at your portfolio–just, wow!).

    I think this was a great way to salvage your muffins–they actually look really yummy in that top photo. I’ve got a recipe for cupcakes with courgette (zucchini, right?) and spinach on my blog–sounds weird, but they actually work (but I wouldn’t go with the molten version) 😉

  2. Thanks Ricki!

    That’s really kind of you 🙂

    I love reading your blog, you’ve got so many inspirational recipes! I will definately check out your zucchini cupcake recipe

    xxx

Leave a Reply

