Beetroot Brownies & Beetroot Cake (Gluten Free)

beetroot-cakes1

I’m onto my final week of my yeast-free & (refined) sugar-free diet *Hooray!* and I’ve managed to stick to the rules 95% of the time. I have limited my sugar intake to one piece of fresh fruit a day, but I made a few exceptions this weekend whilst wandering round my local farmers market as there were far too many tempting festive goodies to try. I couldn’t resist a nibble of chocolate, a bite of mince pie, a sip of mulled wine…unfortunately my naughtiness manifested itself in a bloated stomach; the glass of beer was one step too far.

My sugar-free cakes have been unsatisfying & disastrous over the past week. My attempts at microwavable baking resulted in an apple & cinnamon cake that was contradictorily damp and dry at the same time. Even the arrival of my new shiny oven wasn’t able to rescue my rice + millet vegan scones that resembled ‘geographical landforms’. They soon disintegrated into a pile of crumbs and required gallons of rooibos tea for lubrication.

heart-shaped-scones3

Microwaved Apple & Cinnamon Cake, Rice & Millet scones

In attempt to stay on the straight and narrow, a bit of creativity was needed. Beetroot came to mind; they’re naturally sweet & it would be fun to play around with their vibrant colour.

Firstly, I decided to make carob beetroot brownies. I adapted a recipe that I found online substituting the cocoa for carob, wheat flour for gluten-free, and replaced the refined sugar for apple puree & agave syrup. Eager to try these and I ate them the moment they came out the oven. My boyfriend found them too strange for his Irish palate; it took some time to convince him that they were carob flavored and not burnt, despite my brownie muffins looking like lumps of coal. Admittedly these weren’t too great & I broke my diet again by smothering them in Nutella. However, I had one today & it tasted really moist & rich, almost fudge like and satisfyingly sweet. So you really have to be patient and self disciplined with these brownies.

My second experiment was an adaptation of a carrot cake recipe and again I replaced the sugar with apple puree. I added some desiccated coconut for some chewy nuttiness. Mystifyingly, the shockingly pink batter turned to a cake-beige once baked. I completely forgot to add the agave syrup but it came out just right without it.

Experiment no. 1

Carob Beetroot Brownie

2 tbsp carob powder (cocoa can also be used)

2 tbsp sorghum flour

1/3 cup rice flour

1 tbsp arrow root

½ tsp baking powder

pinch of salt

150g (5.3 ounces or approximately 3 small beets) cooked beetroot, coarsely chopped

1 small apple, cored and coarsely chopped

2 tbsp vegetable oil

1 egg

1 tbsp agave syrup

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tbsp soy milk

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C/350F/ Gas mark 4
  2. Sift all the dry ingredients together.
  3. In a food processor place the coarsely chopped apple & beetroot. Blend to form a puree. Add the vegetable oil, egg, agave syrup, vanilla extract & soy milk and mix again to form a smooth paste.
  4. Add this mixture to the dry ingredients & fold to combine.
  5. Pour into a greased cake tin ( I used a mini bundt pan & made 6 mini muffins but a loaf pan can be used)
  6. Bake for 45 – 55 mins or until an inserted skewer comes out clean.
  7. Allow to cool for 10mins before removing from the pan. Cool completely & eat the next day

beetroot-cakes2

Experiment no. 2 (adapted from a carrot cake recipe)

1/3 cup rice flour

¼ cup sorghum flour

1 tsp arrowroot

½ tsp baking powder

1/3 cup desiccated coconut

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp mixed spice

100g (3.5 ounces or approximately 2 small beets) cooked beetroot, coarsely chopped

1 small apple, cored and coarsely chopped

1/3 cup vegetable oil

1 egg

1 tbsp soy milk

1. Preheat the oven to 180C/350F/ Gas mark 4

2. Sift all the dry ingredients together.

3. In a food processor place the coarsely chopped apple & beetroot. Blend to form a puree. Add the vegetable oil, egg & soy milk and mix again to form a smooth paste.

4. Add this mixture to the dry ingredients & fold to combine.

5. Pour into a greased cake tin ( I used a mini bundt pan & a 5” tart pan but a loaf pan can be used)

6. Bake for 45 – 55 mins or until an inserted skewer comes out clean.

7. Allow to cool for 10mins before removing from the pan. Cool completely & eat the next day

beetroot-cakes3

5 responses to “Beetroot Brownies & Beetroot Cake (Gluten Free)

    • Don’t worry, I’ll pop some in the freezer so you can try it on friday. Thanks for buying me the bundt tin!

  1. I just came across your blog. Interesting recipes! Very inspiring…especially some of the more unusual ingredients like beets…I have so many left from my CSA!

    Just wondering how long you went without refined sugar, and how you felt…?

    • Thanks! I’m glad you like my experimental recipes! I’m spending a month of complete refined sugar abstinance with minimal amounts of fresh fruit & agave nectar for my baking. Apart from feeling hugely satisfied with my achievement, I’m feeling a lot more energised, less moody, and feel better about myself.

      I loved reading your your blog, it’s extremely motivating and wow – what a challenge, only 3 weeks to go!

  2. Pingback: So my 4 week anti-candida diet finally came to an end! :oD « creative recipes for wandering minds·

Leave a Reply

