My 4 week anti-candida diet finally came to an end! :oD

For the past month I’ve managed to avoid: refined sugar (including honey & molasses), yeast products, wheat gluten, smoked & cured products, dried fruit, fermented products, lactose, mushrooms, peanuts and caffeine…my luxuries came in the form of small amounts of fresh fruit & vodka.

I have to admit I found it hard to stick to the rules, especially at weekends with my sweet-loving Boyfriend. Christmas markets with their festive smells prooved hard to resist. I turned a blind eye to worrying about EVERY ingredient when it came to eating out; obviously I avoided the bread-based/creamy/mushroom dishes and desserts. Guilty conscious was more common to follow my relapse than a bad stomach.

My eating habits changed over the past month; I ended up consuming in volume. I ate huge amounts of whole-grain carbohydrates, a colourful range of vegetables, calcium enriched soy products, protein and healthy fats (avocado, olive oil, nuts & seeds), and an alarming amount of porridge to stave off the sugar cravings. I became a bit more resourceful in my baking and had some successes (sweet potato pancakes, banana biscuits, blueberry & rose zebra muffins, beetroot brownies) as well as some disasters that I’d rather forget. I chose to avoid artificial sweeteners though I did have some diabetic chocolate – it just tastes wrong!

sugar-free-biscuit

A sugar-free biscuit attempt, it tasted like pastry crust, very dry and very crumbly and very tasteless…

So…was it worth it?

+ It did what it set out to do as my fungal infection’s cleared up
+ My skin is softer & not as dry as it used to be – must be all those nuts.
+ I feel a lot more energized and healthy – whilst everyone around me seems to be suffering from some sort of cold my body seems to have gained extra resistance
+ I’ve been procrastinating a lot less – I guess baking’s been a big part of my life and I think about food 90% of my waking hours, mainly about the next cake I’m going to bake.
+ I feel empowered to do things & have a more positive about my outlook on life – I’m sure it’s partly to do with circumstances as well as diet, but I feel ready to take a step forward.
+ I listen to what my body needs, not what it wants – I’ve previously been depriving myself of essential nutrients by  filling up on empty calories, I’m now thinking more about eating healthy balanced meals.
+ No more sugar binges, no more beating myself up – I am a victim of eating sweets out of habit/ boredom/ stress/ comfort/ reward. Once I start eating sweets I just can’t stop. Complete sugar abstinence gave my mind a well needed break from destructive feelings of guilt & worthlessness.

Today’s been the first day back to normal but I don’t want to undo all my good work. I nibbled on the bar of dark ginger Green & Blacks chocolate that had been waiting for me for a whole month. I had my first cup of smoky lapsang tea this morning which was a refreshing change from my usual rooibos. I made my own peanut butter that I’ve been spreading on everything. I have a HUGE list of desserts that I want to bake and of course I’ll be finding ways of substituting the refined sugar.

My love for desserts, cakes, cookies & chocolate will never cease, but I will try to stop & think about what my body really needs before gorging on the unnecessary.

11 responses to “My 4 week anti-candida diet finally came to an end! :oD

  1. Pingback: Keeping Candida Albicans Fungi At Bay | Cure Candida Options·

  2. this sounds just like myself, after learning I have to pretty much cut for refined sugar for the rest of my life my baking addiction has taken a new turn into the unknown and creative…

  3. Great job! I know how hard it is to reign in our cravings. I’ve been thinking about trying an anti-candida diet. I’m not sure it’s something I could do long term so I think I have some more thinking to do!

    Thanks for sharing your experience!

  4. This is very inspiring. I have been trying to stick to the diet for several months but always end up bingeing on sweet stuff after 3 or 4 days, and then I need to start again. Driving me insane.
    Hope all your symptoms haven’t come back. I’m desperate to get rid of mine.

  5. Hi, i feel that i saw you visited my web site so i came to ?return the choose?.I am trying to in finding things to improve my web site!I guess its adequate to make use of some of your ideas!!

  6. What?s Taking place i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It positively helpful and it has helped me out loads. I hope to give a contribution & assist different users like its helped me. Good job.

Leave a Reply

