Foodie Exeter

10yr-anniversary-wkend-breakfast1

The best thing about staying in a B&B is the cooked breakfasts. We stayed in two different places on our 2 night break in Exeter. My soft boiled egg & buttered soldiers in B&B1 was very nostalgic. I attempted the full English breakfast in B&B2 which wasn’t so much to my liking. As a recent meat-eater after being pescarian for 13years (for health reasons) I nibbled on the sausage & bacon but found them revolting.

10yr-anniversary-wkend-breakfast12jpg

Coming to a new city it’s always difficult to find somewhere good and affordable to eat. Luckily, we were given a list of recommended restaurants from my sister’s boyfriend, an Exeter resident. One of the restaurants was Cat in the Hat, a contemporary British restaurant on Magdelen Road. We hadn’t booked but they managed to squeeze us in. Being on a tight budget, we’d normally share a starter & a main between us, but this time we splashed out on two courses EACH! The fixed price menu was £9.95 for two courses and was absolutely delicious.

10yr-anniversary-wkend-dessert

Desserts: Vanilla panna cotta with berries, Chocolate fondant with clotted cream

Before our long drive back to Oxford, we stopped off at Darts Farm, a huge outlet for locally produced & organic food and other stuff. I was tempted by the lamb & mint Cornish pasty – I don’t think I’ve ever eaten lamb in my life and not sure if I like it…

10yr-anniversary-wkend-cornish-pasty

One thing we didn’t manage to eat on our trip was Devonshire Cream Tea. Scone-less, I decided to make some Cornish fairings to keep the west-country memory alive.

10yr-anniversary-wkend-fairings

One response to “Foodie Exeter

Leave a Reply

