Pea Cupcakes (Gluten Free)

pea-cupcake2

After my brief experimentation with this legume for April’s Daring Bakers Cheesecake challenge (which didn’t turn out quite how I intended), I was determined to give the humble pea another go.

Armed with a 12p tin of marrowfat peas from Tesco, I mashed them to a chunky pulp with the back of a fork. For a finer pulp it’s best to puree the peas with an electric blender or passed through a sieve. These cupcakes definitely tasted pea-like, and had a pea-y texture to them. They were unconventionally tasty, although next time I will use fresh or frozen garden peas.

I intended these cupcakes to be a ‘healthy low sugar treat’ prior to a stressful phone call to my mother which whipped me into a frosting fury – icing cupcakes helped me to calm down.

Pea Cupcakes (gluten free)
Makes 6 cupcakes

1 egg, room temperature
¼ cup of fruit sugar
½ tsp vanilla extract
2/3  cup of peas, pureed
1 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil
1 tbsp of lemon juice
3/4 cup GF flour (I used ¼ cup of each: rice flour, cornmeal, tapioca)

½ tsp xanthan gum
pinch of salt
½ tsp of baking powder

  1. Preheat the oven 375F/
  2. Whisk together the eggs and sugar.
  3. Add the oil, extract, lemon juice, and pea puree. Mix well
  4. In a separate bowl, sift together the flours, xanthan gum, salt & baking powder
  5. Add the dry ingredients into the wet.  Beat until just mixed.
  6. Scoop into a lined cupcake tin and bake for 15 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean.pea-cupcake1
One response to “Pea Cupcakes (Gluten Free)

Leave a Reply

