Sago Gula Melaka (Gluten-Free)

sago gula melaka3

One of my all time favorite activities is random food shopping…last weekend I found myself down Mare Street, the east London hub of the Vietnamese community. I picked up a few unusual items from a quirky Vietnamese supermarket (soap opera blaring out from a massive flat-screen, underwear displayed in a glass cabinet & an affectionate cat that accompanied me around the store). On this shopping trip I picked up some pink & green tapioca pearls & coconut palm sugar amongst other unusual items, some of which I am still unsure of their purpose. Anyhow, I made the deliciously refreshing Singaporean/Malaysian dessert Sago Gula Melaka. I was surprised by the simplicity of the process and will definitely make it again! The recipe can be found here.

sago gula melaka1

sago gula melaka2

4 responses to “Sago Gula Melaka (Gluten-Free)

  1. I posted a Sago Gula Melaka recently too…!! I made mine with real sago – never tried tapioca pearls but I would assume the taste is different??

  2. Hi,

    I noticed you have a mistake on your chinese dumplings gluten-free ingredients. You’ve listed “wheat starch”….I bet it’s just a typo, but I know you’ll want to fix it!

    Thanks. Great site!

    • Hi Ashleigh, thanks for the comment!
      No, it’s not a typo – apparently wheat starch is gluten free – yes i know, VERY hard to believe. I don’t have a major gluten intolerance so wheat starch was ok with me, but for a coeliac I would probably steer clear.

Leave a Reply

