Surprise Cake (Daring Bakers Challenge July 2014)

2014-07-20 20.21.01

For the July Daring Baker’s Challenge, Ruth from The Crafts of Mommyhood challenged us to bake a cake. But not just any cake; she asked us to add in a special surprise for our eyes as well as our taste buds!

This month’s challenge was a special birthday cake for my Husband. He has the joy of sampling all my baking experiments, some more successful than others, but always tells me that it tastes great. I baked this cake over the course of 2 nights and was reduced to tears when I had realized I’d been far too ambitious. I love biscuits, so I decided to incorporate a biscuit within a cake. My biscuit of choice is a custard cream, but that would have been far too complicated, so I opted for a Jam Ring instead.

2014-07-20 09.27.01

I made red velvet cake, vanilla sponge, chocolate cake, and green ‘velvet’ cake using matcha powder. The red velvet cake had the perfect consistency for stamping out shapes. However, the chocolate cake was far too dense & crumbly so didn’t hold its shape well at all, I was left with fistfuls of cake crumbs. Not wanting my baked goods going to waste, I ended up making cake pops, which are rather tricky if you decide to free-style the recipe & end up not using enough ‘glue’.

2014-07-20 09.25.36

I was a bit concerned that the double baking of the interior cake would end up rather dry – it did a bit, but I compensated this with lashings of marshmallow fluff icing. It was also hard to know how much batter I needed for the final cake – I ended up using too little, so my jam ring ended up poking out the top…

Un phased by the shoddy appearance of his birthday cake, my husband didn’t even bat an eyelid when I directed his knife to the correct angle & position on the cake for optimal effect. He was indeed surprised, mission accomplished! He was impressed that I had managed to bake 4 cakes for his birthday.

4 responses to “Surprise Cake (Daring Bakers Challenge July 2014)

Leave a Reply

