Paté Chinois (Daring Cooks Challenge Dec 2012)

Image

Pate Chinoise is more commonly known in the UK as shepherds or cottage pie – a meaty filling topped with mashed potato, and a popular hearty pub dish.

I have childhood memories of my mum cooking shepherds pie every friday. Potatoes were steamed in the pressure cooker, and she’d make at least 3 pies in one go. The peas and carrots were my favourite part.  Unfortunately for my Irish husband, I’m not a big potato eater.

As Christmas is nearing; I used minced turkey cooked in a tomato pesto sauce, topped off with mashed sweet potato & baking potato. No peas, this time, but peppers, carrots & leeks. I tried to shake the idea of  ‘cat sick’ when looking at my turkey mince & vegetable concoction, it certainly smelt a lot better!

Image

I was unable to source just one Maris Piper or King Edward potato as there were only 2.5kg sacs in the supermarkets, and there was no way I’d be able to carry it along with all my other shopping, or eat them before they started sprouting. So, I ended up buying a 4 pack of jacket potatoes.  Although the baking potato didn’t resemble ‘balls of flour’, it mashed up nicely. Sweet potato, on the other hand was a bit on the watery, grey side (but still tasted good, with a pinch of ras el hanout). This dish was really comforting, topped off with a small slice of melted goats cheese.

Image

Our Daring Cooks’ December 2012 Hostess is Andy of Today’s the Day and Today’s the Day I Cook! Andy is sharing with us a traditional French Canadian classic the Paté Chinois, also known as Shepherd’s pie for many of us, and if one dish says comfort food.. this one is it!

Download the printable .pdf file HERE

6 responses to “Paté Chinois (Daring Cooks Challenge Dec 2012)

  1. I really enjoyed this shepherd’s pie, very comforting. Yes we need more “balls of flour” in the UK to remind me of home! Now you have an Irish husband you’ll need to concoct more meals featuring potatoes.

  2. This dish looks really good! I was thinking of using sweet potatoes next time myself. It was a great challenge!

Leave a comment